Skip to main content
Cisco SD-WAN
Support
Product Documentation
Viptela Documentation

Set Up Users to Access Viptela Devices

You can add, delete, or edit users from the vManage NMS.

Only a user logged in as the admin user or a user who has Manage Users write permission can add, edit, or delete users from the vManage NMS.

Add a User

To perform operations on a Viptela device, you configure usernames and passwords for users who are allowed to access the Viptela device. The Viptela software provides one standard username, admin, and you can also create custom usernames, as needed.

To add a user:

  1. In vManage NMS, select the Administration ► Manage Users screen.
  2. In the Users tab, click Add User.
  3. In the Add User popup window, enter the full name, username, and password for the user. Note that uppercase characters are not allowed in usernames.
  4. From the User Groups drop-down list, select the groups that the user will be a member of.
  5. Click Add. The user is then listed in the user table.

Delete a User

  1. In vManage NMS, select the Administration ► Manage Users screen.
  2. In the Users tab, select the user you wish to delete.
  3. Click the More Actions icon to the right of the column and click Delete.
  4. Click OK to confirm deletion of the user.

Edit User Details

  1. In vManage NMS, select the Administration ► Manage Users screen.
  2. In the Users tab, select the user whose details you wish to edit.
  3. Click the More Actions icon to the right of the column and click Edit.
  4. Edit login details, and add or remove the user from user groups.
  5. Click Update.

Change User Password

  1. In vManage NMS, select the Administration ► Manage Users screen.
  2. In the Users tab, select the user whose password you wish to change.
  3. Click the More Actions icon to the right of the column and click Change Password.
  4. Enter, and then confirm, the new password. Note that the user, if logged in, is logged out.
  5. Click Done.

Release Information

Introduced in vManage NMS in Release 15.2.

Additional Information

Add, Delete, or Edit User Groups

  • Was this article helpful?